Help CenterHelp for ByCommittee Promotion & Tenure Managing Units and UsersAssign Users to Units & Add or Remove a User as an Administrator of a Unit

Assign Users to Units & Add or Remove a User as an Administrator of a Unit

This article explains how to add an existing user to a unit, remove a user from a unit, and assign a user an Administrator role. When adding a new user to ByCommittee P&T, Administrators can assign them to a unit for organizational purposes, such as grouping users in their department. Once a user has been added to a unit they can be assigned an Administrator role, which allows them to edit cases in the unit to which they are assigned. Administrators can grant any user role to a given user at any unit in the organizational hierarchy that is under their administration.

1. On your Promotion & Tenure dashboard, click "Manage," and select "Users and Groups" from the dropdown menu

On your Promotion & Tenure dashboard, click "Manage," and select "Users and Groups" from the dropdown menu

-or- Click on "User & Group Management" from the navigation menu in the upper right of most screens in the program

-or- Click on "User & Group Management" from the navigation menu in the upper right of most screens in the program

The page opens on the "Users" tab by default

The page opens on the "Users" tab by default

2. Locate the user in the list and click the pencil icon to the right

Note that you can search for the user, sort the list of users by name or email.

Locate the user in the list and click the pencil icon

This opens the "Edit User" window

This opens the "Edit User" window

3. Scroll down to the "Units" section, and select the unit from the dropdown list

Scroll down to the "Units" section, select the unit you want to assign from the dropdown list and click "Add"

4. With the correct unit displayed, click "Add"

5. If necessary, check the box to add the user as an Administrator of a particular unit

Check the box to add the user as an Administrator of a particular unit

6. Click the "X" to remove a user from a unit

Click the "X" to remove a user from a unit

7. Click "Update" to save your changes