Help CenterInterfolio Client Community Interfolio Client CommunityManaging and Joining Groups in the Interfolio Client Community

Managing and Joining Groups in the Interfolio Client Community

This guide is only for users in the Interfolio Client Community. This guide is not relevant to the general use of the Interfolio product (ie- Dossier, Faculty Search, Faculty Activity Reporting (Faculty180), Review, Promotion & Tenure).

What are Groups in the Interfolio Client Community?

The groups tool in the Interfolio Client Community was created to offer a place for smaller communities with commonalities to breakout and talk about, potentially private, relevant topics specific to their common-held scenario or perspective (ie- Small institution, System perspective, Medical Institution, etc).

In groups, you can post a discussion post, poll, question, that is relevant to the smaller group within community.

Select the Groups button in the toolbar within the Interfolio Client Community

From the Groups page, you can view a specific group's page, or create a new group.

The information of groups that are marked 'Private' is only available per invite by group manager or owner.

If a group is set to private and you are not a member, than you will receive this screen.

Groups that are set to Private are restricted to those who have been invited to join.

Refrain from asking to join groups that are not relevant for you or your institution.

Choose a group from the list to open their page

Private groups have meant to have managed memberships for specific groups or institutions to communicate and collaborate away from the general community user base.

The page for the group will be displayed.

Note that in this example, this is a group that the user has created and has owner permissions, thus the image may display features you don't have access to in groups you are just a member in.

When you have joined a group, you can search for recent activity associated with the group.

Your exact view may vary in comparison to the images displayed in the Groups section, depending on your permissions set in that group (member or manager)

Create a group from the Groups page by clicking the 'new' button in the top right

In the New Group window that appears, fill in the required fields.

Group fields that are available for edit are:

  • Name - Displayed to all users, even when private.
  • Description - A basic text field, the description of the group for the public to view, even when private.
  • Information - A rich text field, the information of the group to be displayed only to group members
  • Group Email - An email to send messages to submit tickets to the larger group, only available to group members.
  • Owner - The user that controls the primary group settings.

And, farther down, you can also set the Group Access type to 'Public' or 'Private', which controls the ability for general interfolio Client Community users to join the group and view group content. Setting this field to 'Public' allows general Interfolio Community Members to join the group and view the discussion, private requires an invite to join the group.

Enter all required fields, and all desired fields.

Scroll down to add required fields

Select an Access Type: Public- if anyone can join, Private- if users can join by invite only

Click Save & Next when finished

We encourage you to upload a picture for your group photo. When finished, click Next.

Search for and add members to the group. Click the Add button to add a user.

After clicking the Add button, you can choose whether the user has member or manager privileges.

When you have added all users and verified their permissions, click Done at the bottom of the window.

After selecting Done, you will be brought to the group page, where you can make edits to any of the fields you set up during this process or start communicating with your new Group within Interfolio Community.

Manage Group specific updates and notifications from the Interfolio Client Community

Using the notifications and digest tool, group users within the Interfolio Client Community are able to choose how frequently they would like to receive an update regarding relevant group.

Select the Digest button (or Manage Notifications) to launch the tool where you can choose how frequently you would like to be updated on this group's ongoings.

Choose how frequently you would like to be updated.

Features only available to Managers and Owners of a Group

The following features are only available to group Managers and Owners.

How to Add or Manage Member Privileges in Interfolio Client Community's Groups Tool.

Admins and owners can use the Manage Members pane in the right hand side.

How to Edit Group Details of an Existing Group

While in a group, select the arrow button to Edit the group details.

From the group page, select the edit arrow.

Select the Edit Group option to launch the window and make edits to the details.

The Edit Group Details window will appear and you can edit the group details as displayed in the images below

The information below is displayed when a user clicks on the group, note that Name and Description are available to all users.

Group fields that are available for edit are:

  • Name - Displayed to all users, even when private.
  • Description - A basic text field, the description of the group for the public to view, even when private.
  • Information - A rich text field, the information of the group to be displayed only to group members
  • Group Email - An email to send messages to submit tickets to the larger group, only available to group members.
  • Owner - The user that controls the primary group settings.

And, farther down, you can also set the Group Access type to 'Public' or 'Private', which controls the ability for general interfolio Client Community users to join the group and view group content. Setting this field to 'Public' allows general Interfolio Community Members to join the group and view the discussion, private requires an invite to join the group.

Click Save, at the bottom of the screen, when finished.

Scroll down to see more fields in the Edit Details window.

How to Delete a Group

To delete a group, you must have proper permissions to do so, such as being the group's owner or a manager.

This is currently not available but will become available in the coming weeks.  

Click the arrow button to open the additional options drop-down.

Select the Delete Group option