Help CenterHelp for Interfolio Faculty Search Managing a PositionClose a Position (Archive) and Indicate an Outcome

Close a Position (Archive) and Indicate an Outcome

Committee Managers and Administrators can close a position when applications are no longer being considered, either because a hire has been made or for some other reason.

When closing a position, Committee Managers or Administrators are asked to indicate which applicants were selected to fill the position, and if no applicants were selected, can leave an optional note to document why no selection was made. The user is also asked to set a final closed status for the position and has the option to send a message to all applicants based on the status they have chosen.

In addition, Administrators can run reports that clearly document who was hired for every search in the system. For more information see this article on how to run a report on hired applicants.

This article explains how to close a position and document the outcome of the search.

Select the position you want to close from the list of positions

Select the position you want to close from the list of positions

Click "Position Actions" button at the top right of the screen

The current status of the position is displayed to the right of the screen

Select "Close Position" from the dropdown menu

Click to open the dropdown menu and select "Close Position"

Indicate whether or not an applicant was selected to fill the position

Indicate whether or not an applicant was selected to fill the position
If one or more applicants was selected, click "Add Applicants"
If an applicants was selected, type the name in the search bar and click "Add" when it appears

A list of available applicants will appear as shown below. Click "Add" to add the selected applicants

You can search the list of available applicants by name, or email address, and filter the list by application status.

Click "Close Position" at the bottom left of the page when all of the applicants selected to fill the position have been added

Click "Continue" when all of the applicants selected to fill the position have been added to the list

The position is now closed

Note: The landing page of the closed position will be unpublished and no longer accessible to applicants.

The position will no longer appear in the list of active cases but will appear in the list of closed (archived) positions viewable by filtering the list of positions

The position will no longer appear in the list of active cases but will appear in the list of closed (archived) positions viewable by filtering the list of positions

To reopen the position:

Select it from the list of closed positions

Click "Position Actions" to the right of the applications page, and select "Open Position" from the dropdown menu

Make sure you change the position status to an appropriate open or active status